Home

In my Final Piece, I have brought together different aspects of my research and experimentation.

My first inspiration comes from artist Marc Camille Chaimowicz who I was primarily inspired by with his thought provoking interiors and installation work. This joined together with the work of Mike Nelson really sparked my inspiration for the creation of an installation piece that was larger than life. I wanted to use installation so that the general public can actually go into and walk around my piece. This creates a more in depth visual experience.

Having looked in depth at shipping containers after going to an exhibition in Elephant and Castle’s Artworks in which every shop was housed within a shipping container. I became very interested in the 21st century use of these containers. This is why I became especially interested in using one as the centre of my piece.

My work intends to show many juxtapositions. The outside of the container portrays constraint and confindement whilst the inside with its illusion wall aims to display the concept of freedom. Also juxtaposed is the consumerism and the nature. The objects inside the container highlight the idea of luxury and the constant need to have more. This contrasts highly with the wallpaper which is tree bark and looks into form and natural design. Consumerism has a pertinant link to the city and city life where all is rushed and there is no time to sit back and relax. The natural wallpaper juxtaposes this concept, the nature is not man made. My nature inspiration also come from my previous discoveries on Antonio Gaudi and his delicate architecture and the art movement Art Deco which constantly brings into light, florals, leaf and decorative forms. My ideas were also enhance by reading Against Nature by Joris-Karl Huysman. This book centred on the larger theme of wanting more and craving for luxury and luxurious items. In some cases items that did not actually exist, that were of such high quality they had to be hand made.

My Final piece aims to encompass the themes of Luxury, Consumerism and Escapism through different symbolism.

Although I encountered several problems with the piece I was able to overcome them quickly by finding many solutions and alternative methods in order in some cases to actually enhance my work. My only regret of this project was the time constraint I had and it was for this reason that I could not actually paint the photograph that was placed on the back wall. I would have really liked to do this to make my piece more confident and well rounded but regardless I am pleased with the overall outcome.

This piece has come together extremely well and I am really happy with the outcome and I hope people who walk in and experience my piece feel the same way.

IMG_9090 IMG_9091 IMG_9094 IMG_9101 IMG_9102 IMG_9103 IMG_9106 IMG_9113

 

Leave a Reply

