Home

My current Artist Statement shown on my website I was not completely happy with and since I wrote it, a lot of my methods and work have changed.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 11.20.27

I decided to start again, following the sheet of guidelines given to us at the beginning of the year.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 13.33.48

I made a mind map of all the different aspects of my work in order to help with the construction and writing.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 13.34.26

I would be writing my statement in the third person and had to fit it into around 200 words to make it concrete and easily comprehensible.

I thought about the structure in which I could write it. I knew my methods, themes and inspiration was crucial and if I had enough time I could look into ideas and motivation.

  • Part 1 : Discuss briefly my practice as a whole, Talk about myself as an artist.
  • Part 2 : Go into the key themes employed
  • Part 3 : Talk about my Artist inspiration
  • Part 4 : Current Practice

Here is my Artist Statement:

Alice Eaton is an Artist and Designer currently based in Luton, UK. Alice’s practice centres around the theme of Consumerism and Nature and the juxtaposition they create. She uses design based methods to portray this such as painting, drawing, and print which she manipulates and plays with in a digital format. Her practice uses both manual and digital processes as she feels strongly about not neglecting the manual in the digital era.

As Alice is intrigued with creating her art in interior spaces she is constantly inspired by artists such as Marc Camille Chaimowicz, Antonio Gaudi and Mike Nelson. She aims to explore alongside her prominent themes, domestic settings and how we as humans relate to our personal interiors and that of others.

Currently Alice is focussing on the creation of an Interior within a Shipping Container, exploring the themes of Consumerism, the Housing Crisis and the juxtaposition of these phenomenons with natural forms.

 

Here is my statement on my website.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 11.36.18

 

 

Leave a Reply

