Home

After our talk with Colin on Friday discussing the Present and Promote unit and all the emphasis he put on Instagram I decided to try it for myself.

In order to understand better the social media platform I explored several of the links that Colin had supplied for us to look at.

@collagewithcaris

On collagewithcaris, I commented upon the fact she did not put many hashtags, however I later learnt that if you have enough followers this is not necessary. Her practice is mainly centred around collage and manual photomontage and that was clear from both her Instagram name and her most recent images. She updates her Instagram regularly which seems to be key. Alongside this she also advertises the classes she runs. This is a good way to spread the word about them.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.19.56

@phoebenewyork

On @phoebenewyork just as on @collagewithcaris there is regular updates and a repeated practice. She mixes objects and photomontage within her practice and includes videos as part of her uploads. I noticed that @phoebenewyork actually has someone else take photos of her work so they look really professional. She builds a strong relationship with her followers by tagging them and conversing with them.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.20.12

@annabukliewer 

On @annabukliewer she uses a lot more # which enables her to gain more followers. She works with Fashion based photo montage which is her clear medium of choice as the majority of her images work with this. I feel in her work there is elements of surrealism and fluidity.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.21.25

@annestalinski 

@annestalinski is a artist who work in illustration. On her Instagram she employs a strong use of # and in-depth description to enhance her work. She uses the platform to interact with viewers and speak to the people who are viewing her work. @annestalinski updates regularly to keep her viewers interested. She also uses the platform to show posters and marketing work she has produced. In order to be seen on many platforms she has added links to her Facebook, website etc.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.21.39

@badlydrawnmodels

@badlydrawnmodels is an artist who draws people in a caricature style and uploads their pictures next to them. The artists uploads the images in sessions as they do a group of drawings. They tag images of the people featured so they can go back to the page. There is a lot of interaction between the artist and those drawn. @badlydrawnmodels also takes commissions on the page.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.23.28

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.23.26

@illustrated.doris

@illustrated.doris has a lot of # and a lot of follower interaction. Surrealism and the vernacular are employed in her work and also illustrated type. She updates regularly in order to keep her audience interested.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.23.41

@t_o_w_e_r_s

@t_o_w_e_r_s is an artist who uses screen printing as his main medium. He has a lot of followers to his need for # is a lot less. There is a clear continuum in his work using similar circular forms throughout. He has a lot of musical influences and design pieces throughout his Instagram. @t_o_w_e_r_s continues to update regularly in order to keep his followers interested.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.23.56

@felixachurch

@felixachurch uses a mixture of art and life in her work. Some of her images are provocative however I feel this could be one of the reasons she has so many followers. She updates regularly and uses a lot of # to get her work noticed. She puts up links to other social media on her page so people can view her work on a range of platforms.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.24.06

@jcruz_art

@jcruz_art is a very popular Instagram. The artist has clearly got their name out into the art work by doing lots of exhibitions and commissions which we can view on his Instagram. He links his Instagram to other social medias and uses none or simple #. His success could be also linked to the fact he updates regularly.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.24.15

@flaggehaus 

@flaggehaus was the last Instagram I looked at. On the site the artist sells and promotes her work which centres around one abstract shape. She laser cuts and manipulates this shape to create jewellery and other objects. She uses a lot of # to get her work noticed and has a lot of interactional conversation going. @flaggehaus also shows her progress as well as her final outcomes and unlike any I have discovered previously she does giveaways.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.24.23

Creating my Instagram 

From exploring other artists Instagrams, I have come to several points of things I knew worked well.

  • Updating Regularly is key to keeping followers interested
  • Having other elements included such as Giveaways and videos keeps your Instagram fresh and busy
  • Using # helps more people to view your work
  • Interaction with your viewers helps to maintain followers and can help to make interesting connections
  • Progress images of work

I have then created my Instagram under the name @alice_eatonart this is keeping very in line with my Facebook, website and work email which possess similar names. I started to gather together some of my work and use that to post my first posts. I used # that I thought were relevant and interesting.

Here is my Instagram and how it looks.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.38.07

These are some of the images I posted. I tried to create a chronology to make it more professional.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.38.12

Below is so far my most popular post which I was very surprised about as to me it is just one of my simple sketches, image traced in Illustrator.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 12.38.17

Here is my Instagram in App form.

13115642_1714974888780689_297440863_n

I was extremely surprised about how popular and how seen my artwork had become in such a short space of time. It was great to see my work being seen and has definitely given me more confidence going into the last part of my FMP.

Leave a Reply

