Home

Bishop states in her book, Installation Art, that when Installation Art started to come into the art scene, it was used to describe a piece that the viewer would enter into and would often be summarised as being “theatrical”, “immersive” or “experiential”. However more recently the definition has changed somewhat in that Installation can now describe the arrangement of any given object within a space.

She goes on to explain that Installation Art aims to highlight how the objects are arranged within a space and the viewers visual awareness of this. It is for this reason that Bishop brings to our attention that one of the key characteristics of Installation Art is the presence of the viewer.

In my piece I feel that the use of Installation Art is central to my global idea. I aim to highlight a strong juxtaposition between the derelict and the luxury through the use of the interior and exterior of my shipping container. I aim to create an experience in which the viewer will bring into play their senses, this will include touch, sight and smell. By making this an Installation piece, the viewer will be able to experience the size of the container, the juxtaposition employed and the sensory aspects in order to mark their experience and therefore make them aware of the global idea in my work. I do not feel the viewer would have any where as near as experience if Installation was not employed. The same goes for my work. I would need the viewers to go inside my work in order for it to actually have the effect I wanted it to have.

I wanted to use installation within my final piece as it is a medium I feel comfortable in. I prefer to make a space, create an experience for the viewer rather than interpret this idea in several paintings or photographs. I acknowledge at this point in my University journey that this is the strongest part of my practice and this I will use to my advantage going into my final piece.

 

Bibliography 

Bishop C, Installation Art (2005) Tate Publishing, London

Leave a Reply

