Home

Following several classes with Sylvia, I have continued to explore how to create my website.

In the class I used Wix in order to create a suitable portfolio style website. This platform appealed to me because in the Digital classes last year, I struggled using WordPress and coding. I knew from the off that I wanted something simple and easy to use. I loved the overall look of my website, I aimed to create a classy design which highlighted my work in its best light. The type was simple but reflected what I feel is my personality.

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 16.52.02 Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 16.52.17

However this is as far as my journey with Wix went. I really wanted a domain name for my site, I knew this would give it a professional edge and the prices of Wix were too high for my budget. Although Wix offers a free service, I did not find the bar at the bottom and the “create your Wix site” logo at the top at all appealing and for potential visitors this could be off putting.

I turned my website discovery towards Mr Site. I know it is a platform used by a lot of the tutors to create their artist websites and it would be as simple as Wix to navigate. With this in mind, and also somewhat a little fear, I purchased one of the packages that would give me four pages. I knew I could upgrade if I wanted to but this gave me a good starting point.

On every template available there was a space to put a logo. For this task I took on board creating my own logo design. The first logos I did using the blue theme and incorporating my artwork into the logo. This got turned down during the first look at my website concluding it was too pretty and not professional enough.

Logo

logo2

Newlogotry

This logo was my second idea based on the colours of the artwork that I had used for my previous logo. I had a more professional and clean look and suited more the ideas I was trying to convey from my work.

logotryagain

logotryagain2

This is the homepage for my website. It looks professional from a first glance and highlights one of my art pieces to draw people in. I tried to keep the colour scheme similar throughout and uses the same font on all the pages.

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 16.59.13

My gallery page aims to highlight my pieces of work that are currently in progress. I wanted to keep the theme similar again having rectangle shapes. Although I have chosen to put two artworks side by side, I feel three would make it more accessible. However the detail is a lot clearer on the bigger image.

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 16.59.21 Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 16.59.26 Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 16.59.30

On the next page we can find both my statement and my artists CV. These are crucial to add into a website so people can understand your practice and your experience.

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 16.59.36

Finally I have attached a contact form and also links to my social media which I feel are an important part of networking

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 16.59.39

These are my social networking platforms. I have decided to use Facebook as it is so widely accessible and nearly everyone is connected through this. Alongside I have created a Tumblr account. Having used Tumblr before it worked really well for my portfolio and I felt the reblogging factor of this platform would aide me in exchange of work. For this I knew my copyright was crucial.

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 17.40.32 Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 17.40.36

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 17.41.33 Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 17.41.36 Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 17.41.41

Leave a Reply

