Home

I have chosen to use screen printing as my main method of working for the first part of this project. To start off I have picked several images that I have been inspired by when researching.

Casa Batlló (Antoni Gaudi) (interior, ceiling close up), 43, Passeig de Gràcia, Eixample, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain.

Casa Batlló (Antoni Gaudi) (interior, ceiling close up), 43, Passeig de Gràcia, Eixample, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain.

Source: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Casa_Batlló_(Antoni_Gaudi)_(interior,_ceiling_close_up),_43,_Passeig_de_Gràcia,_Eixample,_Barcelona,_Catalonia,_Spain.jpg

174d5da7ff3bd17c5cafaab96238ade4

Source: https://www.pinterest.com/archiSUPERstar/art-nouveau-jugendstil-modernismo-catalano-liberty/

ed024dc20df00402006fc5f7c664c0bc

Source;https://www.pinterest.com/pin/267964246548642612/

From these I designed several shapes and forms that I have drawn by hand and then traced into Illustrator.

Sea anenome Leaf shell

These three forms are what I will be working with to construct my patterns. They also echo for me the idea of Art Nouveau style in which natural forms are constantly used.

I started by trying out some forms and placement in photoshop seeing what would work well, I came up with these two patterns which I appreciated. I knew I did not want to have the same colour however the placement I was happy with. I have drawn here my previous research on the deconstruction of patterns not only hoping to create layer patterns similar to Chaimowicz but also to add in effects later on. The patterns of Chaimowicz have taught me to give myself more freedom when creating and it enabled me not to be afraid to layer adventurously.

Patternproj1 PatternProj2

I knew I wanted to make these patterns into screen prints and in order to do this I would have to break down the layers so I could build them up on the screen. I turned each layer into the simple black and white and saved them as jpegs.

Screenprint2layer2 Screenprint2layer1 ScreenPrintLayer1 LayerScreenprint3

With these layers I would be able to screen print my images. I have never worked with layers whilst screen printing before so I was eager to see how it would turn out. Here is some of my images from the screen printing process.

_MG_8591 _MG_8592 _MG_8594 _MG_8593

Leave a Reply

